10 Realities of Long Distance Relationships

Credit: Caleb George Morris

Credit: Caleb George Morris

After spending 6 months in a long distance relationship, I’ve learnt a thing or two about how they work and how to approach them. Through my experimentation I’ve found it best if you treat them like a snake. They can be wickedly dangerous if you are aggressive towards them, or they simply lounge around your neck and shoulders, the picture of calm, until they snap and strangle you to death.

On that happy note, I want to explore 10 realities of long distance relationships I wish I had been privy to 6 months ago.

10. You will spend a lot of money on stamps. And the lady at your local post office will remember your name and yes it will be embarrassing. 

9. You will suddenly have a gaping hole in your social life that can be filled with fantastic new hobbies to improve your life. I suggest baking, bocce or learning Danish. 

8. Skype is the greatest invention ever created (even topping sliced bread) and if I ever meet the person who launched this amazingness, they will be getting a massive hug.

7. You will hear a lot about places you have never been to, people you haven’t met and things you haven’t seen. Best to just nod and pretend like you know what they are on about. 

6. Get used to attending all of your social engagements as the third wheel. Or fifth wheel. Or god forbid seventh wheel (seriously wouldn’t recommend it) 

5. You will actually eat better and get your butt to the gym without the lure of the warm arms and sexy voice coming from the bed “Ugh don’t go workout, it’s Sunday morning! Let’s stay in and have bacon and maple syrup!”. Your hips will thank you. 

4. Prepare your “I’m really ok face” for the dozens of times a day you will be asked how you are “coping” with the long distance. It is sweet they show interest and care about your feelings but come one we don’t have leprosy.

3. You will collect enough frequent flyers to get to the moon and back. And the lady at the airport Cibo remembers you every time. And yes it is embarrassing.

2. You can’t watch a whole TV series together over a weekend but can watch it simultaneously and call each other after something dramatic happens (OMG he threw Zoe in front of a train! House of Cards spoiler alert!)

1. Some mornings it is easy and you feel proud for committing to this task. Some mornings you want to crawl under the bed and never come out again. But each day you remind yourself why you are doing it and hopefully of the moment when you can be together in the same state/town/room once more.

Are you going through long distance at the moment? Do you have another reality you would like to add to the list?

Much love and till later

Sez xx

6 thoughts on “10 Realities of Long Distance Relationships

  1. I agree with the majority of these, however the post office one baffles me a bit. I can’t recall a time (outside of birthdays, which was once each) when the fiancée and I ever mailed anything to each other. It just seems like a waste of time and stamps.

    • I definitely do go through a lot of stamps! I like it as a personal touch – when you’re doing long distance it’s nice to raise the effort factor even more. We do a lot of texting as well but nothing beats getting hardcopy in the mail 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

  2. I was in a LDR for almost three years (including the first year of my marriage). And yes, the PO lady did know my name 🙂 They CAN work. It’s difficult sure, but it’s doable.

    • Glad I’m not the only one stalking my local PO! Wow I’m super impressed you did long distance while married, that is really, really admirable. I’ll let you know if I’m feeling down and need some motivation to keep going!

  3. I’ve always been on the failed end of the long distance relationship spectrum, but perhaps that’s because we spent little to no time with each other before the distance started, and then it was off to either make-it or break-it with the rest of the stuff. Skype is a lifesaver though– FaceTime, even more so. But I’m glad you and your partner have made it work. I think the letters do help a bit–brings a bit more of a personal element to it. And if you spray your perfume/cologne on the letters, you can smell them again 😛

    • Hi Christa,

      It can be a challenging time and strong relationships have caved because of it. I really enjoy the letter writing part as well 🙂 It’s about putting a little extra effort in and making it personal. When you don’t see someone for weeks and weeks on end it is the little things that count. Great tip on the perfume, never thought of that!
      Thanks for reading and hope you enjoyed the post x

Leave a Reply

